image Nightmares and Dreamscapes by Stephen King 

Stephen King: I feel like he’s my oldest friend and the dude can write, man. 
I’m pretty confident that if it hadn’t been for a chance encounter with Mr King’s work at Army Central Library in Rawalpindi, I would never have begun writing. Like the man himself says, people come into your life for a reason. 
This copy was my birthday gift in 2008. It’s a second hand bootleg simply for the reason that our family was in a financial crunch at the time. Life can be tough but as long as you’ve got people you love with you, things turn out to be pretty much okay, alhumdulillah. 
Cherish who you have, it’s easy enough to lose someone you love. 
N&D is a collection of short stories and one lonely, beautiful poem. The poem deserves it’s own post (it’s THAT nice) so here we’ll just talk about the stories themselves. 
They. Are. Amazing. 
There. That’s out of the way. Having to pick a clear favourite out of these gorgeous little gems is like asking me which feature of my daughter’s face do I like the bes: Eyes? Nose? Lips? HER WHOLE FACE OKTHXBYE. 
Each of the stories is cleverly crafted, elegantly paced. 
‘Dolan’s Cadillac’ is a fantastic bit of revenge fiction which I will not spoil by talking about it. MUST read. AND it comes with an amazing film adaptations which I also heartily recommend. Two words: Wes Bentley. Yum. 
‘The Moving Finger’ got under my skin so much that it was hard for me to understand HOW someone who I’ve never met, sitting thousands of miles away, could creep me out so thoroughly. Why do these terrible things happen to such nice people? Who knows, my friend? 
‘The House on Maple Street’ will restore your faith though. Sometimes the evil villain will get EXACTLY what’s coming for him. Also, Trent in this story was named for Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails, double yum, chum!
Favourite line: Sometimes you could get rid of the ghosts that were haunting your life if you could only work up enough courage to face them.
Recommended Music: NIN, duh.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.